Vegan Cheese Quest – Part 1

I’ve read the blogs, I’ve looked at the photo’s of inviting looking creations, so now its time to begin the quest for a vegan cheese that can make a cheese loving vegetarian make that final leap. Honestly if you’re reading this in hope of a vegan cheese recommendation you should probably just stop reading now.

For my first taste test it seemed a good idea to begin on recommendation. I found this helpful article by The Vegan Society and having limited time and funds (not the best time to start a cheese experiment it seems..)  I went straight to my local friendly Holland and Barrett shop to buy ‘Cheezly white cheddar style’ which they had as the winner of their ‘Best value and availability in the UK’ category.

Now this is where I first begin to disagree with them. For something to be value it has to be value for money, which, if that item is food, probably means you should want to eat it. I did not want to eat this. This is not value, it is cheap. And I can’t fault it for that because its only just over £2.

As it was supposed to be cheese I ate a little smidge as i was slicing it. Urgh. Instantly decided that having a cheese sandwich was not an option, weird almost cheesy but slightly unpleasant taste, powdery texture. I instead tried to melt it onto toast and had it with salad and a garlicky bean dip. Melted it was… ok.. but still the worst cheese toasty I’ve ever eaten. Also you only have 48 hours to eat this stuff after opening. That is not a problem with a lovely tasty block of cheese. I have literally just considered throwing the rest in the bin. I convinced myself to make a Cheezly sauce for my cauliflower, which I still left most of, because boiled cauliflower on its own is more delicious than with Cheezly.

Lifaliciousness – 3/10

 

Leave a comment